Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

20/10/17

Growth mindset continues to delve into our brains, questioning just how much of our brain we use. https://t.co/WE2TWEDSPp

19/10/17

Parents & carers are invited to attend an e-safety workshop, hosted at HGABR on 13 November 2017, 5-6pm. This session starts at 5pm prompt https://t.co/K21Q7XUKJb

18/10/17

Retweetd From UCAS Online

PARENTS: Check out our parent information tool, full of advice to support your child apply to uni 👉 https://t.co/4ROA9hPMzv 👈

18/10/17

Quote of the week: "As the island of our knowledge grows, so does the shore of our ignorance." By John Wheeler

18/10/17

Reflections this week questions whether slavery still exists today and the definition of slavery. https://t.co/KE6jtkOjP5

17/10/17

Can you complete our numeracy challenges this week? Try to remember and use the key words. https://t.co/sP8ZTPgQyy

17/10/17

Word of the week is repudiate. Think of how you can use this word in your class work, to build your word of the week cards up. https://t.co/B1JwYzwAYC

16/10/17

Please note that the academy will finish at the normal time this Friday, for the half term

13/10/17

HGABR tops the performance table for pupil progress in Bromley! https://t.co/hrSHUErSbA

13/10/17

Growth mindset this week is exploring the sentence of 'my brain is like a muscle that grows'. https://t.co/FWBuzM81pp

12/10/17

Retweetd From Harris Federation

New tables put as top performer in for pupil progress https://t.co/i2ASuxP92A

11/10/17

Retweetd From Girl Powered UK

What does being mean to you?

11/10/17

Retweetd From Girl Up

The greatest lesson a girl can be taught? That she already has everything within her to succeed https://t.co/F8W7wjIo71

11/10/17

Retweetd From NSPCC

Today's ! What advice would you pass on to inspire girls? https://t.co/ToNf7j7cBR

11/10/17

Retweetd From Women's Day

Inspire future generations on International Day of the Day!! https://t.co/cyW9k1QbXE

11/10/17

Retweetd From Girl Powered UK

What exciting career opportunities can be opened up from studying STEM subjects?

11/10/17

Retweetd From Complete Uni Guide

Feeling inspired by recent Political Party Conferences? Find out if a degree in politics could be for you! https://t.co/LBXdBIKsRl https://t.co/O712ACUjRN

11/10/17

Retweetd From Girls Who Code

We're celebrating with as much girl-power as we can muster! Here's 16 powerful quotes from women: https://t.co/SjJK41JDJV

11/10/17

Retweetd From HPA Orpington

For Year 1 learnt about the world class athlete Usain Bolt in PE. https://t.co/dRaEAUnPUt

11/10/17

Retweetd From Tomorrow's Engineers

There's more than one route into when you're aged 16. https://t.co/5CFjJzIZ5v

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints & Charging Policy

Charging

Our full charging policy can be found at the bottom of the page, in summary;

Harris Girls' Academy Bromley provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

Complaints

Our full complaints policy can be found at the bottom of the page, in summary;

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Principal Mr Astin at the Academy.

Please contact his PA

Miss Standing
E-mail: principalspa@harrisbromley.org.uk
Telephone: 020 8778 5917

If your complaint is about the Principal then contact the chair of Governors via the clerk to Governors

Email: c.standing@harrisbromley.org.uk
Telephone: 020 8778 5917

Privacy Notice

PRIVACY NOTICE for the school workforce employed or otherwise engaged to work at a Harris Federation school

Privacy Notice - Data Protection Act 1998

The Harris Federation are the Data Controller for the purposes of the Data Protection Act.

Personal data is held by the schools about those employed or otherwise engaged to work at the schools.  This is to assist in the smooth running of the schools and/or enable individuals to be paid.  This personal data includes some or all of the following:  identifiers such as name and National Insurance Number; characteristics such as ethnic group; employment contract and remuneration details; post “A” level qualifications; and absence information.

The collection of this information will benefit both national and local users by:

•    improving the management of school workforce data across the sector;
•    enabling a comprehensive picture of the workforce and how it is deployed to be built up;
•    informing the development of recruitment and retention policies;
•    allowing better financial modeling and planning;
•    enabling ethnicity and disability monitoring;
•    supporting the work of the School Teacher Review Board and the School Support Staff Negotiating Body.

We are required to pass on some of this data to the Department for Education (DfE)

If you require more information about how the DfE store and use this data please go to the following website:
•    https://www.gov.uk/data-protection-how-we-collect-and-share-research-data
•    If you are unable to access this website, please contact the Harris Federation or the DfE as follows:

Harris Federation of South London Schools
4th Floor, Norfolk House
Wellesley Road
Croydon 
CR0 1LH
Website: www.harrisfederation.org.uk
Email: Info@harrisfederation.org.uk
Tel: 0208 253 7777

Public Communications Unit
Department for Education
Sanctuary Buildings
Great Smith Street
London
SW1P 3BT
Website: www.education.gov.uk
Email: info@education.gsi.gov.uk
Telephone: 0370 000 2288

We will not give information about you to anyone outside the school, Harris Federation or the DfE without your consent unless the law and our rules allow us to.


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the Funding Agreement may be seen here. The Academies own Supplementary Agreement can be found below.

Back to Key Information