Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

13/12/17

Staff and students on route to central London to deliver coats, hats, scarves, gloves and jumpers to the homeless living on the streets https://t.co/l8vhvfH6B2

13/12/17

Join us tomorrow! https://t.co/0YilowsOuK

13/12/17

Retweetd From Harris Experience

Our Year 12 sessions with this term have been fantastic, and we're looking forward to continuing them in the new year! https://t.co/wjjLATXVLG

13/12/17

Quote of the week. "Punishment is not for revenge, but to lessen the crime and reform the criminal." Elizabeth Fry

12/12/17

A Fantastic response to this year’s food bank. Over 1700 items donated - thank you to all staff, parents and students for their amazing generosity and support! https://t.co/lMpcGHcHAf

12/12/17

2/2 Do you know what data protection means? https://t.co/4vAxJ2EHYX

12/12/17

Reflections this week focuses on the term 'data is the new oil' and what it means to our students. 1/2 https://t.co/d9q3BU8ZHH

12/12/17

Retweetd From UCAS advisers

Make sure your students don’t miss out on key information – sign up to share our 15 January countdown alert https://t.co/0yqgwlgHie

12/12/17

Retweetd From UCAS Online

From advice on filling in your application, to info about uni life – our video wall has it covered! https://t.co/dNq6sJlZQd https://t.co/UH96JIkKd4

12/12/17

Retweetd From UCAS Online

PARENTS: Check out this short video about how you can support your child at an open day https://t.co/WRQ66iLYyP

12/12/17

Try our other math's challenges for this week. https://t.co/x8fMk7z1rK

11/12/17

Have you downloaded our School News App yet? Find out about downloading and using the App here: https://t.co/Yb0MDs9Zdo

11/12/17

Countdown this week is to reach 458, using: 8 7 8 7 3 10 Good luck! https://t.co/my5BKvrXti

11/12/17

Word of the week is oblivious. Don't forget to use the word of the week during your lessons and work to be in for a chance to win the prize! https://t.co/FxeSlKZhBd

11/12/17

.SaveTheDate: End of term is 20 December and students will break up from 12.40pm. https://t.co/N2qbgmKqqV

11/12/17

See what the academy has been up to by looking at our Latest News area. https://t.co/mxjYdi9qa9 https://t.co/0RTAL4QNps

11/12/17

Reminder - HGABR's Annual Carol Service, this Thursday (14th December) at Holy Trinity Church, Lennard Road from 18:00. All welcome.

11/12/17

Retweetd From Harris Experience

Looking back on our visit to with our Year 10 students last week - a fantastic time had by all! https://t.co/rcGKOogeXv

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints, Whistleblowing, Funding & Charging

Charging

Our full charging policy can be found at the bottom of the page, in summary;

Harris Girls' Academy Bromley provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.
  • A paper copy of any information on the school's website will be provided free of charge to parents.

Complaints

Our full complaints policy can be found at the bottom of the page, in summary;

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Principal Mr Astin at the Academy.

Please contact his PA

Miss Standing
E-mail: principalspa@harrisbromley.org.uk
Telephone: 020 8778 5917

If your complaint is about the Principal then contact the chair of Governors via the clerk to Governors

Email: c.standing@harrisbromley.org.uk
Telephone: 020 8778 5917

Privacy Notice

PRIVACY NOTICE for the school workforce employed or otherwise engaged to work at a Harris Federation school

Privacy Notice - Data Protection Act 1998

The Harris Federation are the Data Controller for the purposes of the Data Protection Act.

Personal data is held by the schools about those employed or otherwise engaged to work at the schools.  This is to assist in the smooth running of the schools and/or enable individuals to be paid.  This personal data includes some or all of the following:  identifiers such as name and National Insurance Number; characteristics such as ethnic group; employment contract and remuneration details; post “A” level qualifications; and absence information.

The collection of this information will benefit both national and local users by:

•    improving the management of school workforce data across the sector;
•    enabling a comprehensive picture of the workforce and how it is deployed to be built up;
•    informing the development of recruitment and retention policies;
•    allowing better financial modeling and planning;
•    enabling ethnicity and disability monitoring;
•    supporting the work of the School Teacher Review Board and the School Support Staff Negotiating Body.

We are required to pass on some of this data to the Department for Education (DfE)

If you require more information about how the DfE store and use this data please go to the following website:
•    https://www.gov.uk/data-protection-how-we-collect-and-share-research-data
•    If you are unable to access this website, please contact the Harris Federation or the DfE as follows:

Harris Federation
4th Floor, Norfolk House
Wellesley Road
Croydon 
CR0 1LH
Website: www.harrisfederation.org.uk
Email: Info@harrisfederation.org.uk
Tel: 0208 253 7777

Public Communications Unit
Department for Education
Sanctuary Buildings
Great Smith Street
London
SW1P 3BT
Website: www.education.gov.uk
Email: info@education.gsi.gov.uk
Telephone: 0370 000 2288

We will not give information about you to anyone outside the school, Harris Federation or the DfE without your consent unless the law and our rules allow us to.


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the Funding Agreement may be seen here. The Academies own Supplementary Agreement can be found below.

The Memorandum of Assosication and Articles of Association can also be found here

Back to Key Information