Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

21/05/19

Out latest countdown numbers challenge is out, along with some other challenges for students to try. Can you complete them all? https://t.co/KI7YjD6sti

21/05/19

This weeks reflection programme is about mental health. Students will look at statistics & attitudes towards mental health & consider not only their own, but others understanding on this topic, & how they can change this attitude for the positive https://t.co/m2Zve0nH0J https://t.co/sDtvPpcigV

18/05/19

Everyone safely home. Some tired, lost legs this evening but you did it. Very proud of all the girls who completed their Bronze practice this weekend! https://t.co/b8KSCoDyTw

18/05/19

Final two teams delayed on return due to a walk round a forest and a hidden path through this. Will contact once we know arrival time to school. https://t.co/3Z35OYkKDS

18/05/19

Team 1 in the distance, team 4 just behind and some animal friends. Lovely day for a https://t.co/aJ31pNo1Qe

18/05/19

We are off for day 2, map reading skills being put to the test today. Hope those that woke up at 5am don't have tired eyes! https://t.co/Z7MyV45BC2

17/05/19

They haven't turned round for the picture, they have decided walking down backwards is easier! https://t.co/kH2tENmhO1

17/05/19

Q. from Jalila to - We all hope to enter the world as informed and engaged in society as we can. What 3 top tips would you give us to achieve this? 1. Work hard 2. Don't let artifical barriers stop you 3. Engage and be passionate in the world around you https://t.co/Vc9cXPgKcE

17/05/19

General Q&A about engaging young people into politics https://t.co/WW3dFahxnN

17/05/19

Our Bronze award students are off for their expedition https://t.co/Grh0Mimv54

17/05/19

Many thanks to for coming in and talking with our Y10 Citezenship students https://t.co/IkC3c8n1K3

16/05/19

Quote of week: "I've failed over and over and over again in my life and that is why I succeed.' By Michael Jordan

15/05/19

Retweetd From Schools Plus Ltd

If you've ever considered hiring the facilities at Harris Girls' Academy Bromley, then please take a look at this Virtual Tour showing what Schools Plus have available to book onsite - https://t.co/A9cUTTCpSf

15/05/19

Countdown numbers game total this week is a grand 140. You can use 2 75 50 8 3 6. Is there more than one solution though? Our weekly math's puzzle (collect from Voc boards) and challenges are also live, so try your hand at some of these. https://t.co/WjzpgZ1W12

15/05/19

Our tutor programme topic for discussion this week, links to our recycled greenhouse project. This week, students will be discussing the consumption and global sales on single use plastic bottles, cans and cartons, and the impact of the waste this generates. https://t.co/FqHGYY46ya

15/05/19

This weeks Must Read Book is a haunting yet powerful novel on the Second World War; Between the shades, by Ruta Sepetys https://t.co/PxivLTbD7H

15/05/19

Word of the week is curator. What do you think the word 'curtator' means and how can you use it in a sentence. https://t.co/QE6gYjGQKX

10/05/19

Summer Half Term - 27 May to 31 May inclusive. Please note that the school will break up at the normal time of 2.50pm on Friday 24 May. For more calendar reminders, visit our website: https://t.co/7xVRzjVLaZ https://t.co/jHGNZi9scB

10/05/19

Quote of the week: "Success is never final and failure never fatal. It's courage that counts." By George Tilton

09/05/19

Retweetd From Science at HGABR

We are trying to build up our allotment with a plastic bottle greenhouse. How can you help? We need students to collect there plastic drinks bottles (no squashed or crushed ones sorry), and drop them into the prep room or the bins labelled Greenhouse, in the main hall. https://t.co/2cY2BzYkT5

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Charging

Our full charging policy can be found at the bottom of the page, in summary;

Harris Girls' Academy Bromley provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.
  • A paper copy of any information on the school's website will be provided free of charge to parents.

Complaints

Our full complaints policy can be found at the bottom of the page, in summary;

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy, then you may wish to make a complaint. In the first instance, complaints should be addressed to the Head of Academy, Mr Rigby at the Academy.

Please contact his PA via the below contact details.

Mrs Coupland
E-mail: a.coupland@harrisbromley.org.uk
Telephone: 020 8778 5917

Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below. 

Back to Key Information