Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

03/06/20

Also, well done to those who continue to undertake volunteering from home during lockdown, by helping siblings with school work and delivering essential goods to elderly neighbours. Keep up the great work!

03/06/20

Congratulations to all those who have completed their volunteering sections this year as part of the . https://t.co/VIb28Udvvg

22/05/20

Our Must Read weekly book suggestion is Little Women. We have even included a word search as a follow up activity. https://t.co/rwszrvI5Do

22/05/20

Mrs Woolcott and Ms Fortmann have been working hard to collate some literary items for our students. Why not check out the free resources they have found, this half term! Struggling for some reading inspiration, then contact Mrs Woolcott for some ideas. https://t.co/dazTkUIno4

22/05/20

We will miss our wonderful group of Year 13’s but can’t wait to see where they go next!

21/05/20

Miss Dent is challenging you! The turning dance challenge. How many turns can you do in 10 seconds? Let us know how many you did. https://t.co/sanLDgFFNp

18/05/20

A massive well done to Ms Mhlanga who has been awarded for excellence in geography education at secondary level. This is an amazing recognition for the work she has done within her subject! https://t.co/OoDfhHiANT

18/05/20

Retweetd From Richard Maurice

A MASSIVE congratulations to ’s very own Charity Mhlanga for winning ’s Award this year. I couldn’t think of a more deserving recipient. I’m sure that Charity and her fortunate students at will be thrilled! Well done Charity! https://t.co/6o9r5YhTbL

18/05/20

Retweetd From Harris Federation Geography

Huge congratulations to Charity Mhlanga, geography teacher for winning the Award for excellence in geography education at secondary level. We could not be more proud! https://t.co/TPdHtgq4EM

18/05/20

Retweetd From Royal Geographical Society (with IBG)

🎉Congratulations to Charity Mhlanga from School, recipient of the Award for excellence in geography education at secondary level. 🏅 https://t.co/GBiUi6bpcY

18/05/20

HGABR Staff thoughts 💭 https://t.co/j1jguMLpmf

18/05/20

Week 7 of home learning, our students are continuing to show commitment to their learning by answering plenty of questions on Hegarty Maths. Keep up the great work! https://t.co/BlG4S5y19J

18/05/20

Retweetd From Harris Peckham

We are fully supporting Mental Health Awareness week. The theme is kindness. This week we are going to spread a lot of 😊❤ How are you going to be kind? https://t.co/JHurY3gFPu

18/05/20

10 goblet squats exercises. Don’t forget to allow 15 seconds break between each rep/exercise. https://t.co/AdF6hO1JCc

18/05/20

10 single arm plank https://t.co/BQAH62kBMW

18/05/20

10 get up sit ups https://t.co/lOgjwaSlbL

18/05/20

Continuing on with exercise this morning, Miss Dent shows 5 weight based exercises (use cans/tins if you don’t have weights), to keep you active. 10 reps on each side. 10 dumbbell snatch https://t.co/E05RTbojtW

18/05/20

Miss Dent with a few short videos on different workouts you can do from home. 3 non equipment exercises; Burpes, lunges and tricep dips. Try for 45 seconds and allow 15 seconds of rest between each exercise. https://t.co/4Httx7zIie

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Charging

Our full charging policy can be found at the bottom of the page, in summary;

Harris Girls' Academy Bromley provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.
  • A paper copy of any information on the school's website will be provided free of charge to parents.

Complaints

Our full complaints policy can be found at the bottom of the page, in summary;

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy, then you may wish to make a complaint. In the first instance, complaints should be addressed to the Head of Academy, Mr Rigby at the Academy.

Please contact his PA via the below contact details.

Mrs Coupland
E-mail: a.coupland@harrisbromley.org.uk
Telephone: 020 8778 5917

Complaints regarding the Executive Head or Head of Academy should be made to the Chief Executive's Office at info@harrisfederation.org.uk.


Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below. 

Back to Key Information