Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

21/03/19

Retweetd From HGABR Sixth Form

Some amazing Y12 revision wheels being created here in Business Studies. https://t.co/rFzERIRNfu

21/03/19

Creating the piece herself, the dance shows an internal conflict. https://t.co/70bC1i9jHv

21/03/19

A little snippet from a beautiful solo piece by a Y11 student. https://t.co/kChrorGCS0

20/03/19

Retweetd From Harris Careers

Are you looking for a Coordinator of Sixth Form role? Apply now https://t.co/SoZOE847ij https://t.co/yNeTjGzhn8

20/03/19

Countdown numbers game this week is to reach 158 using 7 2 2 9 4 4. Check out the other challenges and see how close you can get. https://t.co/tB6zS7OnTv

20/03/19

Quote of the week: “It is motive alone that gives character to the actions of men.” By Jean de la Bruyere

19/03/19

Check out this weeks Must Read book - Stargazing for Beginner. https://t.co/VezyRWfMAm

19/03/19

This weeks current topics for discussion in tutor time focuses on two educational topics. The two recent stories to hit the news surrounding the admissions scandal in the USA and the repercussions on students since the maintenance grant was abolished. https://t.co/G7TCdlfXLL

19/03/19

This weeks Word of the Week is surreptitious. This word can be collected from the yellow faculty. https://t.co/RiKWc5Lj8j

18/03/19

This weeks focus in assemblies is a reflection on last weeks celebrated . Students will explore literacy around the world & how books teach us about the relationships between literacy, economics, morality & many other areas. https://t.co/oMuoV42q8o

18/03/19

Where does the sky start? If our skin cells renew every seven years, what makes you the same person as you were 7 years ago? Is it better play well and lose or play badly and win? Do we have free will? If I borrow a million pounds, am I a millionaire?

18/03/19

This weeks reflections programme has students talking about what a 'thunk' is. Students will explore a series of everyday statements and questions that help you to look at the world in a whole new light.

17/03/19

Retweetd From Harris Federation

Thank you to our Governors for giving up your precious time to attend today’s conference. Thanks also to Colleagues that ran the sessions & to for the keynote. We appreciate you all https://t.co/zUw6lTOZrb

15/03/19

Retweetd From Science at HGABR

Some amazing Pi bakes from the girls at HGABR https://t.co/5vG3zOUe3m

14/03/19

Retweetd From HarrisSchoolDirect

It's great to catch up with some of our &Classics today at Spelling-bee! https://t.co/OAPR2kaXYK

14/03/19

Retweetd From Step into Dance

Huge congratulations to who won the final this week! We're mega proud of you & all the other Step into Dance schools that took part & St Angela's! https://t.co/bsNOZHSbmX

13/03/19

Countdown this week is to reach the total of 188, using 1 7 6 3 3 25. A special well done goes to Kim in 8B1, who correctly answered last weeks math's puzzle. https://t.co/fmgmCdAjEZ

13/03/19

Quote of the week: "I have been impressed with the urgency of doing. Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Being willing is not enough; we must do." By Leonardo da Vinci

13/03/19

are with our students today in a workshop about the production The American Clock, which the group are going to see tomorrow. https://t.co/zdevMiuHUF

13/03/19

The Bromley Senior Company performed at for the , as they got first place in the first round of London Youth Games and were representing Bromley There was so much passion from the HGABR dancers as they performed their 'Coven of Witches' piece https://t.co/4X3xzFGj63

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints, Whistleblowing, Funding & Charging

Charging

Our full charging policy can be found at the bottom of the page, in summary;

Harris Girls' Academy Bromley provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.
  • A paper copy of any information on the school's website will be provided free of charge to parents.

Complaints

Our full complaints policy can be found at the bottom of the page, in summary;

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Principal Mr Astin at the Academy.

Please contact his PA

Miss Standing
E-mail: principalspa@harrisbromley.org.uk
Telephone: 020 8778 5917

If your complaint is about the Principal then contact the chair of Governors via the clerk to Governors

Email: c.standing@harrisbromley.org.uk
Telephone: 020 8778 5917

Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below. 

Back to Key Information