Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

01/03/21

Competition time for . Every year staff celebrate by dressing up as some of our most beloved characters from the books we read. Whilst we cannot do this at school this year, this shouldn't stop our students from letting their imagination run wild. https://t.co/iSmA7BkxhD

01/03/21

is 04/03/2021. As part of our our Must Read collection, we are promoting 4 books this week. Check them out! https://t.co/RVvT0OA1d4

01/03/21

This week is promoting the career path of an Engineer. Read our slides and follow the link for more about this career. This video is about a civil engineer Nariba from Barbados https://t.co/RGTNe5UuPP https://t.co/7gzBNjqxte

25/02/21

Retweetd From Harris Federation Chinese

More mouth-watering entries for the competition. There's still time to enter if you think you have what it takes to beat these amazing LinguaChefs! https://t.co/6GbJeNLofb

24/02/21

Writing Competition Time! The Year History Can't Forget: 2020 https://t.co/QxZmr58REO

24/02/21

This weeks Must Read has been featured on the radio, BBC Breakfast TV, won many awards and was nominated for the Carnegie Medal. An insight into dual nationality, bringing together the recognition of International Language day on the 21/02/2021 and the new Chinese year of the Ox https://t.co/BzmZBOUbD5

24/02/21

career focus this week is around Apprenticeship week. To find out more, click on the following links. https://t.co/WaBXVMjk4K https://t.co/W7qU3OnuUT https://t.co/Qm317aitSy

24/02/21

Looking at student engagement on Bedrock and HGABR ranks 9th place amongst all secondary schools, placing us in the TOP 10 secondary schools for student engagement. This is amazing work from our students! https://t.co/Be4EOBNFiC

24/02/21

We encourage our students to think and speak like geographers at HGABR. A-level student Lily proved she can bake like one too! https://t.co/eWSaKb0qmO

24/02/21

Year 8 geography students have been creating earthquake survival kits from this shopping list and a maximum budget of £50. What would you include? https://t.co/fRrRrKFnGP

24/02/21

Retweetd From Bedrock Learning

First up, we have five Bedrock stars from . Congratulations to: Christina, Laya, and Zaineb from R. Whiting’s class, Nancy from S. Khanom’s class, and Zara from C. Gray’s class!

17/02/21

Retweetd From Bromley Libraries

SCHOOLS! Don’t miss Meet The Author today at 4pm here: https://t.co/OIddHrjJnO when will show how to write a mystery in 4 simple steps!

08/02/21

Retweetd From Harris Benson

Get involved in Safer Internet Day 2021 https://t.co/9UdYUx7fYz via

08/02/21

Retweetd From UK Safer Internet Centre

'You receive a message, it tells a creepy story and then says that if you don’t send it on to five people in the next 5 minutes then something terrible will happen. What do you do?' Test your online safety knowledge with our quiz https://t.co/UJZ0pKNfD0 https://t.co/ahcgZ5Gmsf

08/02/21

Retweetd From Safer Internet Day

✅ What is ? ✅ What does it stand for? ✅ How can we all play our part for a better internet? Find answers to all your questions in our infographic – view it in full resolution at https://t.co/ufrqYxo87T https://t.co/sp1KzTJAN6

08/02/21

Retweetd From BBC Young Reporter

Are chips good for you? Hmmm... Our own opinions and memories can affect our judgement when deciding whether a story is true or false. Find out more about with 👉 https://t.co/kdY0CI2pIv https://t.co/NF2topaBbD

08/02/21

Retweetd From UCAS

Explore your ideas and be confident in your decision making. Alice, teaching apprentice, really benefited from the support and guidance of class teachers during her apprenticeship. https://t.co/0gozKUJ8iO

08/02/21

This week, we will highlight and discuss LGBT+ History Month and terminology. By studying history, we develop a better understanding of the world we live in. Understanding our past, better enables us to understand our present. We will also look at how terminology matters. https://t.co/bJS0MSXYHl

08/02/21

Don't forget about the Young Poets Competition 2021 -Deadline - 5 March 2021 5:30pm

08/02/21

As part of last weeks , this week's must reads reflect the books available in the library that can advise on mental health issues, coping strategies and explain what is happening to your brain at developmental milestones. https://t.co/zNa9Ph8Cdc

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Clapham

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notices, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Charging

Our full charging policy can be found at the bottom of the page, in summary;

Harris Girls' Academy Bromley provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.
  • A paper copy of any information on the school's website will be provided free of charge to parents.

Complaints

Our full complaints policy can be found at the bottom of the page, in summary;

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy, then you may wish to make a complaint. In the first instance, complaints should be addressed to the Head of Academy, Mr Rigby at the Academy.

Please contact his PA via the below contact details.

Mrs Coupland
E-mail: a.coupland@harrisbromley.org.uk
Telephone: 020 8778 5917

Complaints regarding the Executive Head or Head of Academy should be made to the Chief Executive's Office at info@harrisfederation.org.uk.


Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below. 

Back to Key Information